Accessibility and adding focus order to components

Hi I am a visually impaired student and currently building accessible plugins. I have started using this editor and it is fantastic. I need to add .setExplicitFocusOrder to each slider. Is this something that could be added in the menus with tooltips etc? it would be really helpful. I can’t currently find any other way to add this to the code, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also is there a way to add .setDescription to components

Hi and thank you so much for trying the accessibility in PluginGuiMagic.
I started this in a new branch feature/accessibility:
https://github.com/ffAudio/foleys_gui_magic/compare/develop...feature/accessibility

I’ll add the setExplicitFocusOrder as well, please let me know if that is enough or if there is something else I need to do to expose juce’s accessibility features.

This is fantastic have just tried it out. There are a few other features, I will have a play over the next few days and see what will be most useful. Thank you for making this happen so fast.

This is fantastic. could you please add

setTitle()
with
setExplicitFocusOrder()

Thanks for checking it out. I have added setTitle() and setExplicitFocusOrder().
If that works I will merge that into develop.

that’s working perfectly thank you.

one last useful asset would be to use the “view” container as a focus container to create components groups to search.

this would be

setFocusContainerType (FocusContainerType::focusContainer);

This is used in the JUCE accessibility demo, Custom navigation.

one last thing, is it possible currently to set a sliders text box to editable?
This is really useful when using a screen reader to set values quickly as it can be quite slow using key commands on frequency controls in particular.

Thank you for all the recent editions, I have nearly finished my first fully accessible synthesiser months ahead of schedule thanks to PGM.

1 Like

Amazing work, looks really cool!